Restaurants · Vegan Resources

5 of my Favorite Vegan Spots in the Twin Cities, MN

Good afternoon!

I have been putting together a list for some time now of my favorite spots in the Twin Cities for good vegan cuisine! I plan to update this list in the near future as I visit more places and new restaurants pop up. But for now, here are a few of my favorites (they are in no particular order):

  1. The Herbivorous Butcher

One of my favorite things to do in the Twin Cities is to visit my local butcher shop – the vegan one, of course! The Herbivorous Butcher in Minneapolis offers a wide variety of vegan meats, cheeses, and treats! The best part is that their menu rotates, so you’ll always find something new when you go! My favorite things to eat there are the pulled “pork” (made from jackfruit), the deli “ham,” and the jerky! Sadly, I was never a cheese person and still am not (even with fake cheese), but my vegan partner absolutely LOVES their cheese! He and I love going together to get ingredients for different recipes. We also each buy some chocolate every time we are there – I buy a K’hul bar and he buys a ghost pepper chocolate!

2. Hard Times Cafe

If you haven’t been to Hard Times, you are missing out on some quality chow. This vegan/vegetarian spot is the perfect place for a late night meal or an afternoon lunch (or really any time of the day). The biscuits and gravy should basically be their own food group. It’s my favorite meal there, and I order it every time. They offer a wide variety of foods that can almost always be made vegan. Everything is clearly labeled, too, so there’s no confusion of you’re vegan or gluten-free. Oh, and they have vegan bakery items, such as chocolate donuts and muffins. Did you hear that in the back? CHOCOLATE. DONUTS.

3. Reverie Cafe and Bar

I finally tested out Reverie the other day, and it is absolutely in my top five favorite vegan spots. The atmosphere is very cool, and the service is excellent (and fast). I ordered the Cubano sandwich with a cup of Red Bell Pepper Bisque soup, and I savored every bite. They recently became 100% plant-based, getting rid of their dairy and honey products. And to make things even better, they’ve started serving breakfast. I’ll have to test out their biscuits and gravy, too!

4. Galactic Pizza

This wonderful pizza parlor is home to one of my favorite meals – a phony-roni pizza with vegan strawberry cheesecake. People, I have dreams about that cheesecake. Not only is the food fantastic and super vegan-friendly, but the restaurant is super cool! The delivery drivers dress up like superheroes, and the entire store looks like something out of an old comic. This has become my partner and I’s favorite date spot in Uptown, so wink-wink to all the couples/polyamorous relationships out there since Valentine’s Day is coming up!

5. Pizza Luce

Last, but definitely not least, is Pizza Luce! I know, more pizza. Can you tell I like to eat? Pizza Luce offers a vast variety of pizza toppings that are vegan-friendly and delicious! I like topping my pizza with veggies and the vegan breaded mock chicken. I always make sure to save room for appetizers, because they have “Lucky Bird Nuggets:” buffalo-style vegan nuggets. These have a spicy kick to them that is so delicious, omnivores order them, too!
There are so many new vegan spots opening up soon that I will definitely have to try out! But for now, these are my top 5 tried-and-true vegan spots in the Twin Cities.

What are your favorite vegan spots where you live?

Eat your veggies on some pizza,

Amber

3 thoughts on “5 of my Favorite Vegan Spots in the Twin Cities, MN

  1. My favorite vegan spots depend on what I’m in the mood for. For pizza, Pizza Luce and Galactic pizza are my favorite too. For curry, I love Bambu in Maplewood and Everest on Grand in St. Paul. For Brunch, I love Pizza Luce, Hardtimes, and Triple Rock. For happy hour, I love Triple Rock. For fast food, I love Chipotle, Panera, and Whole Foods Deli. For Dessert I could list a million places but Izzy’s and Muddy Paws are at the very top of that list. If I’m going to First Ave, I love going to the Depot Tavern first. When I’m in a sports bar / burger mood, I love the Bulldog N.E.

    Have fun expanding your list 🙂

    Like

    1. Wow! These are some awesome suggestions! I, too, am a fan of Izzy’s and I just tried Everest on Grand! It was incredible. Thank you much for the awesome suggestions, I’ll have to try them all! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

